Writer’s Excursion to Trinity Bay SHS

Trinity Bay Writer’s Festival

“The World of Mystery” festival was held on Aug 10th & 11th at Trinity Bay SHS. Students from Yr 6 to 12 attended the two day workshop with world renowned authors, Lili Wilkinson, Nick Earls, Jack Heath and Anne Spudvillas.

“Seeing some of our students volunteer to read their own work to award-winning authors was a really great experience. Sharing and celebrating their writing, as well as encouraging one another, was something they should all be proud of!” remarked Ms Campbell.

Our budding authors – Jasmine M, Jessica R, Keegan M, Billie W and Tahnia E also commented:

“The writer’s festival was amazing … The authors and illustrators taught us a lot and I made many new friends … I learnt a lot about my friends’ ideas, aspirations and writing styles …

This experience was amazing and a ton of fun! … I cant wait till next year – I even started another book … I found a way to use my charcoal … I found it very interesting and educational … It inspired me to become a junior author… I now know how to illustrate my own book … Thanks for letting me go to that experience … You’re awesome”


CBCA Book Week 2017 – Escape to Everywhere

Books transport us to other places and inspired this year’s signposts to various fictional settings. None of our featured books from the 2017 shortlist were chosen Books of the Year. [https://cbca.org.au/winners-2017]

We featured Oliver Huxley’s allegory of grief “My Brother” and information books about design (Spellbound by Marie Coote) and courage (Fabish by Neridah McMullin). Thank you for your artistic assistance Mr Jarman and Sharon B (Yr12). and for the winning Panem travel poster by Dany C. & Vanda R. in 7A. Special thanks to Ms Ellington [pictured] for giving up some of her own time to help set up our display.

 

New Book Recommendation snipped from a Review by Jackson O. (Yr8)

Anthony Horowitz uses incredible description and storytelling to make a story that is not only intriguing and thrilling, but also engaging and thought-provoking. This unbelievable book constantly entertains and seems to surpass all other books in the Alex Rider series. ‘Alex Rider: Never Say Die’ will keep you on the edge of your seat and wanting more.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *